Album Reviews Leonard's Lair Music Reviews Leonard's Lair - Bringing you weekly updated music reviews Bringing you weekly updated music reviews
Reviews     Best     Links     About
Leonard's Lair Music Reviews Music Reviews
Music Reviews Album Reviews CD Reviews Music Reviews Indie Reviews
Alternative Reviews CD Reviews Album Reviews
CD Reviews
Reviews of Music
Album Reviews
Electrafixion Album Reviews 3out of 5
Album Reviews

Album Reviews
Back in 1995, the two dominating forces of Echo And The Bunnymen decided to tentatively reconvene under a different name. The theory could be that Ian McCulloch and Will Sergeant could hide under the limelight to gauge public reaction to a proper comeback but the most convincing argument is that they wanted to start a new project, which was adrift from the earlier work with their erstwhile band. However shortlived this detour this was, though, Electrafixion proved to be one of the more palatable "side projects" around and confidence was gained for a fully-fledged reunion with remaining Bunnyman Les Pattinson soon after.

'Burned' differs substantially from Bunnymen work as it seems to be a reaction to the grunge era of the early 1990s. Sergeant's always distinctive guitar work was fuzzier and harder but still recognisably Arabesque whilst McCulloch seems to revel in this situation; cast as a sneering rock figure rather than a post-punk figurehead. Looking back, 'Sister Pain' and 'Who's Been Sleeping In My Head?' still rank alongside the duo's best work. They are backed up by some strong album tracks such as 'Too Far Gone' and 'Zephyr' whilst 'Never' swings convincingly. Throughout Sergeant sets about his task like a man possessed.

The only problem with the reissue is that there's too much to digest. As well as B-sides on the first CD there is an extra CD of predominantly live material which - despite being well recorded - only serve to show that they could play their songs in concert almost as well as in the studio. Nevertheless, 'Burned' remains a useful and unfairly overlooked chapter in the story of two of indie rock's greatest icons.

Album Reviews
  CD1 Track Listing
01 Feel My Pulse
02 Sister Pain
03 Lowdown
04 Timebomb
05 Zephyr
06 Never
07 Too Far Gone
08 Mirrorball
Standout Track Whose Been Sleeping In My Head?
10 Hit By Something
11 Bed Of Nails
12 Zephyr
13 Burned
14 Mirrorball
15 Rain On Me
16 Never (Utah Saints Blizzard On Mix)

Standout Track = Standout Track

  CD2 Track Listing
01 Holy Grail
02 Land Of The Dying Sun
03 Razor's Edge
04 Not Of This World
05 Subway Train
06 Work It On Out
07 Zephyr (Live)
08 Feel My Pulse (Live)
09 Sister Pain (Live)
10 Lowdown (Live)
11 Never (Live)
12 Holy Grail (Live)
13 Too Far Gone (Live)
14 Burned (Live)
15 Loose (Live)

Album Reviews
Album Reviews
Also Recommended:
Echo And The Bunnymen - Crocodiles, Heaven Up Here, Porcupine, Ocean Rain, Echo And The Bunnymen, What Are You Going To Do With Your Life?, Flowers, Siberia
Album Reviews
print this reviewprint this review Album Reviews print this reviewemail this review
Music Reviews CD Reviews
Alternative Reviews CD Reviews Album Reviews
Alternative music reviews Album Reviews CD Reviews Record Reviews Indie Reviews
go to the top of the page Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews
Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews