Album Reviews Leonard's Lair Music Reviews Leonard's Lair - Bringing you weekly updated music reviews Bringing you weekly updated music reviews
Reviews     Best     Links     About
Leonard's Lair Music Reviews Music Reviews
Music Reviews Album Reviews CD Reviews Music Reviews Indie Reviews
Alternative Reviews CD Reviews Album Reviews
CD Reviews
Reviews of Music
Album Reviews
Cocteau Twins Album Reviews 4out of 5
Album Reviews
BBC Sessions

Album Reviews
After finally confirming they had split, the expected trawl through the archives to find the Cocteau Twins' recorded work for the BBC has finally come to fruition. This 2-CD set mainly concentrates on their early 80's period when they were still a gothic outfit rather than an ethereal pop outfit. Their early material has stood up well too despite sounding similar to Siouxise And The Banshees at times. Robin Guthrie's fine production techniques and Liz Frazer's remarkable voice always ensured that whichever genre of music they took on they nearly always sounded superior to the competition. Tracks such as 'Garlands' (with it's urge to 'die in the rosary'), 'Dear Heart' and 'Wax and Wane' display all the Twins' qualities very well; of Frazer's mourning, clear voice complemented by the death-chamber like echo effects and cavernous bass. 'In Our Angelhood' and 'The Tinderbox (Of A Heart)' demonstrate that they were equally adept in playing sped-up and slowed-down post punk anthems respectively. The Billie Holiday classic 'Strange Fruit' also works suprisingly well amongst the goth surroundings. There are seven tracks from the final session offered by the Cocteau Twins which features one of their best ever songs in 'Fifty-Fifty Clown' although here it has lost some of its earlier beauty thanks to it being unnecessarily modernised. For devoted Cocteau Twins' fans much of what is on offer is largely faithful to the originals but there a few interesting variations on offer.
Album Reviews
  CD1 Track Listing
01 Wax And Wane
02 Garlands
03 Alas Dies Laughing
04 Feather Oar-Blades
05 Hearsay Please
06 Dear Heart
07 Blind Dumb Deaf
08 Hazel
Standout Track The Tinderbox (Of A Heart)
10 Strange Fruit
11 Hitherto
12 From The Flagstones
13 Sugar Hiccup
14 In Our Angelhood
15 My Hue And Cry
16 Musette And Drums

Standout Track = Standout Track

  CD2 Track Listing
01 Hitherto
02 From The Flagstones
03 Musette And Drums
04 Pepper-Tree
05 Beatrix
06 Ivo
07 Otterley
08 Serpentskirt
09 Golden-Vein
10 Half-Gifts
11 Seekers Who Are Lovers
12 Calfskin Smack
13 Fifty-Fifty Clown
14 Violaine

Album Reviews
Album Reviews
Also Recommended:
Cocteau Twins - Garlands, Head Over Heels, Treasure, Victorialand, Blue Bell Knoll, Heaven Or Las Vegas, Four Calendar Café, Milk & Kisses
Dorian Gray - Stellar
Plague Monkeys, The - Surface Tension
Album Reviews
print this reviewprint this review Album Reviews print this reviewemail this review
Music Reviews CD Reviews
Alternative Reviews CD Reviews Album Reviews
Alternative music reviews Album Reviews CD Reviews Record Reviews Indie Reviews
go to the top of the page Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews
Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews